So Cow - Lisa Marie Airplane Tour cs

(Lost Sound Tapes)

this is the fifth(ish) album from Ireland's So Cow, and after a couple outings with a full band (via albums on Goner and Inflated Records), Brian Kelly has gone back to playing everything by himself, like in the old days (ie. his self-released cd-rs, a few 7"s and two albums on Tic Tac Totally Records). Recording-wise, Brian may have regressed, but his new songs on this record are among the strongest he's ever written. With a recurring theme of anxiety, these 12 catchy little pop songs have the same nervous, kinetic energy found throughout his earlier works, filtered through the wisdom of experience. He's like a less-eccentric Martin Newell or a down-to-earth (yet more keyed-up) Daniel Treacy... an interesting character with even more interesting stories to tell.
  1. What Makes A Man Start Gorse Fires
  2. Asleep On A Bus
  3. Captain Of Industry
  4. Westerly Direction
  5. Disengagement
  6. At Home
  7. Something More
  8. No Trades
  9. Batman, Tonight
  10. The Invigilator
  11. Wait It Out
  12. Half Past