Makeout Vertigo - Can't Always Be There cd

(Jigsaw Records, PZL085)

hailing from rural New Jersey, this boy/girl four-piece existed for only a few years, but in that time managed to release two EPs and more than half a dozen compilation tracks, the majority of which appeared on their own Beta Snake Records. Though they never strayed too far from home, the band made their way to our mailbox a couple years back (with their debut EP), and subsequently into the Jigsaw mailorder, and finally, to the label's roster. Their music fits in the same vein of '90s indiepoppers, the Maybellines, Gritty Kitty and vintage Bunnygrunt - cute but not overwhelmingly so, and with an equal mix of peppy and moody pop songs. In fact, I'm convinced this could've been released on Kindercore, were it not recorded 15 years too late. Clocking in at about 35 minutes, this 16-track disc collects everything the band released, from their first compilation appearance in 2012 to their last in 2014, ending on an exclusive unreleased track the band recorded before dissolving. A fitting end to the band's all-too-brief career!

Not limited. All songs written by Makeout Vertigo. Available digitally on Bandcamp.
  1. Parking Lot Snots
  2. Cold Hands Warm Heart
  3. Midnight
  4. Mr. Denton Flew The Coop
  5. The Apocalypse
  6. See Ya Never
  7. Dagger Babes
  8. Trailer Baby Blues
  9. Argyle Cranford
  10. Downstairs
  11. Sip From The Holy Wine Cooler
  12. Jackdaw
  13. Nervy B
  14. Dead End Mable
  15. Poppies
  16. Silver