Beanpole - From Blue To You (a compilation) cd

(Jigsaw Records, PZL033)

Regular price $10.00

Verna Brock made some of the sweetest indiepop of the '90s; you probably heard her voice in Holiday Flyer or Rocketship, but Beanpole was her solo project, consisting of herself and her four-track. Though she enlisted the help of a couple friends later down the road, she excelled at multi-tracking her guitars, vocals (oh, the wonderful harmonies!) and the occasional drums and flute. She recorded many songs during this time, releasing them on labels such as Blackbean, Cher Doll, Papercut and Goodbye Virginia. This disc compiles every song she ever released, as well as some songs that never strayed from the original handmade demo tapes, making for a very comprehensive collection indeed! Oh, and did I say she was really sweet?

Not limited. All songs written by Beanpole, except track 15 by Neil Diamond and track 20 by Cahn/Styne. Available digitally on Bandcamp.

  1. You're Flying
  2. Toss + Turn
  3. I Should Know By Now
  4. Destination
  5. In A Muddle
  6. Never Again
  7. Some Other When
  8. Being You + Me
  9. I'd Know You Anywhere
  10. 120 Seconds
  11. Secret Crush
  12. You're Such A Tool
  13. Our Life
  14. Hooked On You
  15. A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You
  16. Nowhere To Go
  17. I Didn't Know
  18. Upstairs Downstairs
  19. So I'm Gone
  20. Let It Snow
  21. Now I Know
  22. Things Turn Out Okay
  23. Very Strange
  24. It Wasn't Meant To Be
  25. Far Away From Anywhere
  26. Wonder Why