Tripping The Light Fantastic - ...Is Tripping The Light Fantastic cd

(Jigsaw Records, PZL040)

this group from Hamburg, Germany caught my ear with their brilliant single on Cloudberry Records, the A-side of which ("Heavy Heart") reminded me quite a bit of Summer Cats, but with beautifully layered female vocals. Then I heard their split 7" with Honeyheads on Dufflecoat Records and was taken in by the equally great "Neon Ant Colony". When the band asked me to release their debut album, I naturally jumped at the chance! Though only ten songs long, this album is quite multi-faceted, going from the driving and melodic "The Lane" and "Lover Not A Fighter" to the playful "Can't Treat Me Right" (with a ragtime piano part!) and gentle "Mostly Harmless", which nicks the chorus from an Orange Juice classic (and the singer does a good Edwyn Collins, too!). Plus, you have to love a band where everyone sings! Overall, a really solid album, and it contains my favorite artwork of any Jigsaw release to date!

Not limited. All songs written by Tripping The Light Fantastic. Available digitally on Bandcamp.

  1. The Lane
  2. Heavy Heart
  3. Lover Not A Fighter
  4. Can't Treat Me Right
  5. Pristine And Mean
  6. Neon Ant Colony
  7. Mirrorball
  8. Fire On The Lake
  9. Mostly Harmless
  10. Out And About