Persian Rugs - This Is OK For Now cd

(Jigsaw Records, PZL098)

Regular price $10.00

this is the first album from Toronto, Canada's Persian Rugs (distantly following their debut 7" on Cloudberry back in 2011), and it almost slipped through the cracks into obscurity! I found it purely by chance on Bandcamp a few months back and instantly wrote the band requesting that they let me give it the Jigsaw treatment, and lucky for me, they were into it! Have a listen to this band's brand of classic indiepop infused with some dreampop influences - it's as if you melded Jesse Garon & The Desperadoes with Poundsign, adding a bit of Velocity Girl for good measure. Lots of jangly guitars, but with a fair amount of synths involved, as well. It's also a record of many moods, from the ferocity of the opener "Bedhead" to the easy-going pace of "I Wanted Something More" to the gentle "Cotton Candy", with many points in between (and there are only eight songs!). A truly multi-dimensional record and we're proud to have it in our catalog!

Not limited. All songs written by Persian Rugs. Available digitally on Bandcamp.

  1. Bedhead
  2. I Wanted Something More
  3. Naked
  4. Cotton Candy
  5. Underemployed
  6. Falling Through The Floor
  7. Comic Book Dreams
  8. Phone Call From The Lake