The online shop is back in business! As long as the USPS is active, we will ship out all orders daily!

Dzula, Mark - Begin Again cd

(Jigsaw Records, PZL051)

Regular price $10.00

this is the first solo album from Mark Dzula, a man who is making a new start for himself down in San Diego. Mark originally came from New York City, where he was a collaborator with Gary Olson and the Ladybug Transistor. He reminds me quite a bit of Super XX Man, writing very personal lyrics over somewhat adventurous songs. This album contains a few "normal" indiepop songs ranging from the upbeat opener "The Graduate" to the haunting "Falling Snow" to the Kissing Book-ish "Camera Lucida"; but you'll also find a bit of mariachi in "The Rebel" or island rhythms in "Begin Again", and then there's "Happiness", which sounds like it comes from a musical. This is the type of record that really grows on you after repeated listening, and the payoff is quite rewarding!
Not limited. All songs written by Mark Dzula. Available digitally on Bandcamp.
  1. The Graduate
  2. Summer Song
  3. You And I
  4. The Rebel
  5. Cicatriz
  6. Begin Again
  7. Happiness
  8. Falling Snow
  9. Camera Lucida
  10. Automaton
  11. Home